Local political season taking shape

North Buncombe – Three sitting Weaverville Town Council members, Patrick Fitzsimmons, Jeff McKenna and Andrew Nagle filed to run for re-election to their seats last week at the Buncombe County Board of Elections.
In a press release, the three current Council members describe themselves as “good guys doing good work, making smart decisions for Weaverville’s future.” The three are filing to run for their second terms on Council and to complete some of the projects they have started, including building a new community center, expanding the town’s water plant, and completing a new land-use management plan.

Fitzsimmons, McKenna and Nagle have been endorsed by their colleagues on board, which includes Weaverville Mayor Al Root, Vice Mayor Doug Jackson and Council Woman Dottie Sherrill.

In Woodfin, Alderman Jim Angel has filed to keep his seat on the board of aldermen along with Ronnie Lunsford. They are joined by challenger Linwood Leonard Nichols of Owenby Road. The Tribune understands that there are four seats open on the Woodfin Board of Aldermen including the mayor’s seat. Woodfin Mayor Jerry VeHaun (see story page 1) has told the Tribune that he will file before Friday.

Current Woodfin Sanitary Water & Sewer District member Sarah Gassaway has filed to retain her seat on the water board. The deadline for filing to run for office ends on Friday (July 19) at noon.

Show More

Clint Parker

Publisher & Editor Weaverville Tribune

Related Articles